Miroslav Klose scores goal with his hand, and tells referee Print E-mail
Written by Huffington Post   
Friday, 28 September 2012 17:38

Sportsmanship 1, Lazio 0.

German soccer star Miroslav Klose put the ball in the net off of a corner kick in the fourth minute to seemingly stake Lazio to an early 1-0 lead over Napoli. As his Lazio teammates celebrated, the Napoli players furiously argued that Klose had used his hand to punch the ball into the net.

They were right. He had. To the chagrin of his teammates, Klose actually admitted this to the official, who disallowed the goal.

The referee disallowed the goal and Napoli went on to win 3-0 thanks to Edison Cavani's hat trick.

Napoli defender Paolo Cannavaro talked about Klose's honesty after the match, telling Reuters that his "gesture deserves a prize."

The Guardian pointed out that this is not the first time a player in Serie A owned up to a hand ball, noting that Daniele De Rossi admitted that he scored for Roma with his hand in a 2006 match against Messina.

Last Updated on Friday, 28 September 2012 17:47